RSS Feed

Wicked witches and delightful apples…

What is it about wicked witches and their apples?  Do you think that there is some symbolism there?  I guess I could be over-analyzing, but I have been reading the book “Wicked” and watching the t.v. show “Once Upon A Time” lately, so I’ve got witches on my mind.

Well,  I’m not a wicked witch (or a witch of any sort, though I would be offended if you claimed I reminded you of Glinda), but I really like apples.  Especially certain varieties.  Like Honeycrisp or Granny Smith.  Yum!

But when it’s cold and blustery outside, a cold, crisp apple is not the most appealing.  You want food that’s warm and cozy.  Like apple pie.  Or, even better for the easily expanding waistline of winter: warm and spicy applesauce.  I prefer to make mine with a mixture of sweet apples and sour apples, but you can use whatever you have on-hand.

I will tell you this much: I love my warm and spicy apple sauce so much that I will challenge it against most apple pies.  (I said most!)

I challenge you not to eat it right out of the pan- it is that good (or should I say “bewitching”?)

“BEWITCHING” WARM AND SPICY APPLESAUCE

6-8 apples, cored, peeled, and rough-chopped (I’m never perfect with my peeling; I like a little texture in my applesauce)

4 T. water

1/8 C. granulated sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 tsp. ginger

Toss your rough-chopped apples into a huge pot with the water and spices.  Turn your heat on to a low-medium.  Stir the apples at least once ever 5 minutes or so, so that they evenly breakdown.  You want them to be nice and soft, with juices coming out, before you add the sugar.  This should take about 20 minutes, maybe more depending on heat and size of apple pieces.  After they have substantially softened, add the sugar and stir, stir, stir.  You do not want it to burn!  Let the sugars, fruit, and spices meld for about another 5 minutes.  Turn off the heat.  Now you have a chunky applesauce.  It is really good this way (like apple pie filling), but if you prefer a smooth sauce, wait until it has cooled and transfer to a food processor or blender and blend to your heart’s desire.

Enjoy!

About homemadeandhealthy

I love teaching children, gardening, baking desserts, cooking creative meals, felting, painting, writing, reading, playing board games, listening to records, pulling weeds, listening to my cats purr, playing with my dog at the beach, playing guitar, singing folk songs, doing yoga, traveling to foreign countries, watching comedies, and so much more.

Leave a Reply

