RSS Feed

Cookie Monster!

When I was a kid in the 80s, one of my favorite characters on Sesame Street was Cookie Monster.  I liked Cookie Monster because he liked cookies and so did I.  It didn’t take a lot for me to like you back then!  These days, things are a little more complicated.  I’m pickier about who I like.   I’ve also graduated beyond eating chocolate chip cookies or sugar cookies.  The cookie recipe I have today is complex: sweet, zingy, nutty, and buttery.  It is the perfect adult cookie, but it will make you smile like a kid again!

Orange and Walnut Shortbread Cookies

  • 4 C. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 C. crushed walnuts
  • 1 C. light brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 1/2 T. finely grated orange peel
  • 2 T. fresh orange juice
  • 2 C. unsalted butter, room temperature

Preparation:

Mix flour, salt, sugar, walnuts, and orange peel in a large bowl.  Add the orange juice.  Slowly cut in butter until the mixture forms small pea-size crumbles. Work the dough with hands until it holds together.  Do not overwork it.  Put the large ball of dough in the center of wax paper or plastic wrap.  Roll it into a large log shape.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Remove log of dough from refrigerator and slice it into pieces about 1/2″ thick.  Put cookies slices on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes (until dry and firm, but not browned on top). Cool and then glaze or dust with powdered sugar.  Enjoy!
About homemadeandhealthy

I love teaching children, gardening, baking desserts, cooking creative meals, felting, painting, writing, reading, playing board games, listening to records, pulling weeds, listening to my cats purr, playing with my dog at the beach, playing guitar, singing folk songs, doing yoga, traveling to foreign countries, watching comedies, and so much more.

Leave a Reply

