RSS Feed

The Wall

The wall between my living room and kitchen is brick.  Old, red brick.  I don’t like it.  On the wall facing the kitchen there is yellowing ceramic tile that covers that brick.  It is the back splash for my stove.  This is even worse!  The brick at least has character.  This ceramic tile is old and plain and very ugly.  With every cup of tea and every pot of stew, it mocks me….

My husband and I remodeled our kitchen a few years ago.  It’s pretty, with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances.  “Leave the back splash to me”, I said.  “I love to mosaic!” I said.  Three years later, it’s still the saddest part of the kitchen.

So now I have finally decided to “tear down the wall”.  Well, in a psychological sense.  I actually have to cover the ceramic tiles.

Word of caution: laying tile over ceramic tile is time-consuming, messy, and risky.  I was lucky that it worked.

First, I jumped up on my stove (it was off) and hammered all the tiles for at least an hour to create a dimpled/cracked tile wall.  If you must tile over tiles, the ones you cover cannot remain smooth or it will not work.  Not at all.

I also got out some sandpaper and roughened everything up a bit that way, too.

Then I got to work!  Here’s me at the beginning and with the end product.  It’s the “Tree of Life”.

About homemadeandhealthy

I love teaching children, gardening, baking desserts, cooking creative meals, felting, painting, writing, reading, playing board games, listening to records, pulling weeds, listening to my cats purr, playing with my dog at the beach, playing guitar, singing folk songs, doing yoga, traveling to foreign countries, watching comedies, and so much more.

Leave a Reply

