RSS Feed

Don’t eat the felted fruit!

As you may know, I run a small preschool.  It is an earth-friendly preschool with organic food and lots of nature-based activities.  I do my best to give the kiddos plastic-free toy options, but it is nearly impossible this day and age.  There are just not that many options for plastic alternatives.  Luckily, I am creative enough (thanks, Mom!) to solve my toy dilemma.  I went to the local yarn shop and purchased wool roving.  It’s so fun to buy.  It’s like balls of rainbow-colored cotton candy for sale!  I bought way, way too many colors.  When I got home, I realized that I just had to do something with those 20 different candy colors.  That is how my felted fruit were grown (see what I did there?).

The above picture shows (from left to right): pear, apple, and green grapes.  All three fruits were made from balling up the roving in my hands, kind of like making a snowball.  Then I fine-tuned them with felting needles.  The most important part of felting that I’ve learned is that you need to continue to felt something a while after it looks done.   Too many felted items will fall apart if you stop when they look good enough.

Oh, and the other thing is: don’t eat the felted fruit.  But that’s advice I usually reserve for the preschoolers!

About homemadeandhealthy

I love teaching children, gardening, baking desserts, cooking creative meals, felting, painting, writing, reading, playing board games, listening to records, pulling weeds, listening to my cats purr, playing with my dog at the beach, playing guitar, singing folk songs, doing yoga, traveling to foreign countries, watching comedies, and so much more.

Leave a Reply

